Easy to mount a small donkey: a letter to the Irish Green Party

Monday 4 May 2020

Dear friends in the Green Party,

You’re about to enter talks with two rightwing parties. Don’t be fooled by the usual description of them...

The Death of Neoliberalism In the Pandemic

Monday 13 April 2020

The death of neoliberalism during the pandemic



What are states for? For the rich 5% or for the people?



David...

Here be dragons: Johnson versus Varadkar

Tuesday 24 March 2020

Here be dragons: Johnson versus Varadkar

In recent years I have been struck by the fundamental difference between British and Irish politics....

Preface to FOTOGRAFIE DI VERSI

Friday 3 May 2019

Preface to Fotografie di Versi (Francesca Pecorella and Claudio Baccarelli)





I have always believed that lyric poetry...

Ireland's KKK

Sunday 24 February 2019

Rooskey and Ireland’s KKK

Italy may seem a strange jumping off point for an article abour Rooskey, but I believe it is an instructive example....

Thoughts on Corbyn and Brexit

Saturday 12 January 2019

Thoughts on Corbyn and Brexit

William Wall



I’m just an interested observer of British politics. To be honest, it would...

Waiting for Grace's day to dawn - on the writing of my novel Grace's Day

Friday 17 August 2018

Waiting for Grace’s Day to Dawn

First published in the Irish Times, 11th August 2018



Grace’s Day began for me (appropriately...

American Values

Tuesday 17 July 2018

American Values

I heard on the news today that Paul Ryan of the USA’s House of Representatives is critical of Donald Trump’s relationship...

Water And Its (Dis)Contents

Thursday 5 July 2018

Water and its (Dis)Contents

First published in Studi Irlandesi (Forence, Issue no. 5)

The watery hazes

It’s a foggy...

Repeal the 8th Amendment

Wednesday 9 May 2018

On the 8th Amendment

‘Whatever happens while you’re taking this medication,’ the doctor told me, ‘Liz must not become pregnant.’ The medication...